ZT Charity - шаблон joomla Форекс




mission image


In 1982, the Heads of States of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) agreed to put in place a regional energy policy in order to promote a regional energy market and to optimize resources in West Africa. Subsequently, in 1999 the West African Power Pool (WAPP) was created and its Master Plan was put in place in 2000 with a view to provide electrical energy at competitive and affordable prices in the West Africa region to ensure e social and economic development.

Within its Master Plan, WAPP planned to accelerate several regional interconnection line projects including a transmission line to interconnect the States of Côte d’Ivoire, Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinée (CLSG). The CLSG Project is a multinational investment operation and is financed by 4 donors namely, the World Bank, the European Investment Bank (EIB), the KfW and the African Development Bank (AfDB). The four beneficiary countries have provided counterpart contributions for the payments of Resettlement Action Plans (RAP) and Interest accrued during construction (IDC).

In 2012, therefore, a Treaty was signed by the Heads of State of the CLSG countries to establish a Special Purpose Company called ‘TRANSCO CLSG’ which stands for Transmission Company Côte d’Ivoire, Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinée.

The objective of the supranational company is to implement the project, specifically to finance, construct, operate, maintain, own and develop the Interconnection Line among the Member States.

Following the signature of the International Treaty governing the CLSG Project, the General Secretariat of WAPP in compliance with its prerogatives as Secretariat of the Treaty initiated the process of establishing the governance bodies of the project as outlined in the Treaty.

Thus, from the 26th to the 28th of August 2013, the following bodies were made operational:

  • The Steering Committee which is the supreme body of the Treaty is composed of the four Ministers in charge of Energy in the CLSG Member States
  • The Implementation Committee as the body in charge of monitoring the implementation of the Treaty on behalf of the Steering Committee is composed of eight members. Two senior officials from each country - one from the Ministry of Energy and one from the Ministry of Finance.
  • The Board of Directors of TRANSCO CLSG composed of 7 members – The first four members are the heads of the four utilities; a representative from the West Africa Power Pool Secretariat (WAPP) and two independent experts, one from the Francophone West Africa and the other from Anglophone West Africa.
  • The current acting Chairperson of the Board is Mr. Amidou TRAORE, Director General of CI Energies.
  • The WAPP is the Secretariat of the Treaty with the purpose of assisting the Steering Committee and the Implementation Committee to carry out their functions.
  • The General Secretary also acting as temporary General Manager of TRANSCO CLSG undertook several actions, one of which was the competitive recruitment of the General Manager of TRANSCO CLSG. Following the consummation of this process, Mr. Mohammed Mulibah Sherif, former Chief Economist at the Ministry of Finance in Liberia, was appointed as General Manager by the Board of Directors of TRANSCO CLSG.


  • March 5,h 2012: Signature of the Treaty by the CLSG counties Heads of State
  • August 27, 2013: Signature of the Article of Association by the CLSG countries national utilities companies  and Signature of the Shareholder’s Agreement
  • November 8, 2013: Signature of the International Project Agreement
  • September 5,, 2014: Mr. Mohammed M. Sherif is appointed as the General Manager of TRANSCO CLSG
  • December 3,2014: Signature of TRANSCO CLSG Headquarters Agreement with the Republic of Côte d’Ivoire

Follow us on Social Media

Sound CloudFacebookYoutubeTwitter